A Lesson from Shaitaan

Posted: December 15, 2010 in Sourced, Traditional
Tags: , ,

Shaitaan has left us an exemplary lesson! He has not done anything for himself. Whatever transgression he committed is a different issue. However, he has left us a very huge lesson, in that he has proclaimed:

“O ye group of Scholars(Ulema)! O ye group of worshippers (Aabids)! Just look at me! Was I in any way deficient in knowledge (Ilm)? Why do Scholars become overawed with my knowledge? Why are they terrified? Did I lack in knowledge in any way? I had abundant Ilm! Did I lack in any way as far as Ibaadat is concerned? My Ibaadat is unlimited! You cannot possibly make as much Ibaadat! Thousands of years I prostrated with my head in Sajdah!”

Yes he had even performed Ibaadat for thousands of years. So, what was lacking? The answer is: There was no tarbiyet! And the factor that was an obstacle to tarbiyet was takabbur! That is why I am saying that he has left us a lesson, and has shown us that it is impossible that merely through teaching and learning (ta’leem and ta’allum) kibr will go away. This just cannot happen. “Just look at me!” is what Shaitaan is telling us.

As more and more zaahiri means arise for performing good, so, too does takabbur increase; as there is no progress in Ilm, so too does takabbur increase; as Ibaadat increases, so too does takabbur increase; as the means of worldly progress increae, so too does takabbur increase. As long as special and specific measures are not adopted to remove the intoxicating effects of the sins of the baatin this intoxication will not disappear.

This nisbat is weak. This nisbat is a feeble connection. Allah Ta’ala states:

“O ye believers! Do not be deficient in fulfilling the rights of Allah and His Rasul.”

Source:

Dr Ismail Mangera

Publisher: “For Friends” No. 10 Pages 29-30

Comments are closed.